Vague thoughts of the Internal Medicine Intern

It’s been 1 month and 16 days of being the Internal Medicine intern. This is my last rotation. I have 15 days left as an intern and I’m graduating from post-graduate intern status.

Last year the end seemed like a long view.

I wish I could just breeze through my last 2 months but the past 46 days have been intense, really intense.

I wish it was just simply about work, but then it has been more of an emotional than an intellectual experience.

I’ve been trying to write about it but I always end up blank. I’m pained by the experience because it has changed something that has kept me happy for the past 3 months. I’ve decided to move on today and maybe soon it will be easier to write about it.

The rotation in IM has been exciting though, I’m actually being brainwashed by the residents to consider Internal Medicine for residency. Still, my heart belongs to Ophthalmology.

I was forced to go on sick leave for 2 days last weekend because of  rubella a.k.a german measles. Had this awful rash that spread from the face to the trunk and marched down to my legs and feet. My posterior auricular and occipital lymph nodes were painful—classic findings in German measles.

I’m well now. Clinically well, emotionally broken 😦

One thought on “Vague thoughts of the Internal Medicine Intern

Leave a Reply

